REO Speedwagon's Kevin Cronin and Dave Amato discuss favorite tunes on new episode of AXS TV's 'Mixtape'

Courtesy of AXS TV/Joy Factory

Courtesy of AXS TV/Joy FactoryREO Speewagon‘s Kevin Cronin and Dave Amato are featured on the latest episode of AXS TV’s new series Mixtape, which airs tonight at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT.

As previously reported, Mixtape features various well-known rock artists talking about their favorite songs of all time, and sharing their personal playlists of the tunes that shaped their lives and impacted their careers.

In a preview clip of the new episode, Cronin recalls how he came up with a new way for the band to play its keyboard-heavy 1987 hit “That Ain’t Love” in concert to make it sound better live.

“I suggested to Dave that he play a Gibson ES-335 [guitar],” the frontman notes. “And we took this song and turned it from kind of a poppy, kind of synthy thing to kind of more of a bluesier thing that really served the lyric better.”

Also in the clip, Cronin and Amato play an acoustic version of “That Ain’t Love.”

In conjunction with the episode, Cronin and Amato created a playlist of their favorite songs that can be accessed on a popular streaming-music service.

Here’s their mixtape:

“Down in the Valley” — Solomon Burke
“Handy Man” — Del Shannon
“Please Please Me” — The Beatles
“You Really Got Me” — The Kinks
“Bus Stop” — The Hollies
“Mr. Tambourine Man” — The Byrds
“Mr. Soul” — Buffalo Springfield
“Suite: Judy Blue Eyes” — Crosby, Stills & Nash
“Tiny Dancer” — Elton John
“Holiday Inn” — Elton John
“Music Man” — REO Speedwagon
“157 Riverside Avenue” — REO Speedwagon
“Everything I Own” — Bread
“Keep On Loving You” — REO Speedwagon
“Take It on the Run” — REO Speedwagon
“Can’t Fight This Feeling” — REO Speedwagon
“Golden Country” — REO Speedwagon
“Keep Pushin'” — REO Speedwagon
“Ridin’ the Storm Out” — REO Speedwagon
“Polly” — Nirvana
“Roll with the Changes” — REO Speedwagon
“Time for Me to Fly” — REO Speedwagon
“That Ain’t Love” — REO Speedwagon
“Reach Out of the Darkness” — Friend & Lover
“Trip Switch” — Nothing but Thieves
“Lipstick Wonder Woman” — Tyler Bryant & the Shakedown
“Ms. Marianne” — Levon
“Love Is a Rock” — REO Speedwagon
“Won’t Get Fooled Again” — The Who

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.